Keynote Speakers & Panellists

THE-ICE 14th IPoE Forum 2021

25th – 27th October 2021

proudly hosted by University of Derby

At 1 Devonshire Rd, Buxton, Derbyshire, SK17 6RY

Click here to view the THE-ICE 14th IPoE Forum programme

Keynote Speakers and Panellists


THE-ICE Business Alliance Partner presentations

9:00am BST / 7:00pm AEDT, Tuesday 26th October 2021

Professor Peter Ryan

Founder & Director, Higher Education Leadership Institute (HELI), Australia


Ms Gemma Love

Supporter Engagement Officer, Mary’s Meals, United Kingdom


Mr Nick Pidgeon

Head of Surveys & Benchmarking, i-graduate, United Kingdom


Ms Mellissa Oliver

Senior Client Support Officer, i-graduate, United Kingdom


Keynote Address: Securing our future – Sustainability in & of tourism and hospitality education

12:30pm BST / 10:30pm AEDT, Tuesday 26th October 2021

Mr Sam Coulstock FIH

Head of Professional Development, Institute of Hospitality, United Kingdom 


Ms Clare Johnson AIH

Youth Council Chair, Institute of Hospitality, United Kingdom 


Panel 1: How to resist the squeeze on TH&E education and make it sustainable…and profitable

1:30pm BST / 11:30pm AEDT, Tuesday 26th October 2021

Professor Tom Baum

Professor of Tourism Employment, Strathclyde Business School, University of Strathclyde, Scotland & Auditor, THE-ICE Assessment Panel


Panel 2: A sustainable future – embedding sustainability in TH&E curricula

2:30pm BST / 12:30am AEDT (next day), Tuesday 26th October 2021

Professor Dr Elena Cavagnaro

Professor of Applied Sciences (Sustainability in Hospitality and Tourism), NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences, The Netherlands & Visiting Professor, University of Derby, United Kingdom


Panel 3: Sustaining our greatest assets – protecting and promoting health and wellbeing amongst staff and students

12:00pm BST / 10:00pm AEDT, Wednesday 27th October 2021

Mr Emanuel Donhauser

Creator & Owner, SwissEdEx, Switzerland


Panel 4: The new 3R’s of education – learning to Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle in TH&E education

1:15pm BST / 11:15pm AEDT, Wednesday 27th October 2021

Mr Duncan Marson

Senior Lecturer (Tourism), University of Derby, United Kingdom


Panel 5: Sustainability is more than environmental management – promoting social development in TH&E education

2:30pm BST / 12:30am AEDT (next day), Wednesday 27th October 2021

Mr Donald Sloan

Chair, Oxford Cultural Collective, United Kingdom


Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsorship opportunities are now available, please email jane@the-ice.org for details.


Proudly hosted by:








Proudly sponsored by: