Keynote Speakers & Panellists

THE-ICE 13th IPoE Forum 2019

14th – 17th October

proudly co-hosted by Lyceum of the Philippines University
& University of Santo Tomas

At The Bayleaf, Muralla St, Intramuros, Manila, 1002 Metro Manila, Philippines

Keynote Speakers & Panellists

Welcome and Official Opening 

Introduction by Master of Ceremonies team 

Welcome by the Executive Team of Co-hosts: Lyceum of the Philippines University & University of Santo Tomas

Official Opening: Dr Paul Whitelaw, Chair, THE-ICE Board, & Associate Director Higher Education and Quality, William Angliss Institute, Australia

Keynote Speaker: Dr J. Prospero E. de Vera III, Chairperson, Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Philippines

Plenary Panel Session

Focus: The Globalisation of Teaching and Learning

Chair: Professor J S Perry HobsonPro Vice-Chancellor for Global Engagement, Sunway University, Malaysia


Dr Hanqin Qiu, Distinguished Professor and Dean of the College of Tourism and Service Management, Nankai University, China

Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat, Secretary, Department of Tourism, Philippines

Mr Jouni Ahonen, Vice President, Haaga-Helia University of Applied Sciences, Finland

Dr Andy Nazarechuk, Auditor, THE-ICE Assessment Panel & Former Senior VP of International Relations for Taylor’s University (Malaysia), Philippines

Roundtable World Café Session / Panel Session 2

Focus: Leadership & Human Capital – how are innovations in teaching & learning being used to deliver education without borders?

Chair: Mr John Daly, Director of Quality Assurance, Swiss Education Group, Switzerland


Dr Peter Ryan, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Higher Education Leadership Institute (HELI), Australia

Mr Peter Russell, Operations Director, Russell Partnership Technology, United Kingdom

Roundtable World Café Session / Panel 3

Focus: In Search of the Perfect Curriculum – balancing the need for high-tech and high-touch.

Chair: Dr Scott Richardson, Executive Dean, Emirates Academy of Hospitality Management, United Arab Emirates


Dr John Fong, CEO, S P Jain School of Global Management, Singapore

Mr Ajay Kapur, Faculty Head, Marketing & Innovation, Hotelschool The Hague, The Netherlands

Roundtable World Café Session / Panel 4

Focus: Getting to the Heart of the Matter – exploring ways for increasing humanism within education and service industries

Chair: Ms Gienke OsingaDean of Hotel Management & Facility Management, Breda University of Applied Sciences, The Netherlands


Ms Joji Ilagan Bian, Chairperson, Joji Ilagan International Schools & President, Council of Hotel Schools of the Philippines, Philippines

Roundtable World Café Session / Panel 5

Focus: Education, Intercultural Understanding & Excellence – is education opening minds, building bridges & making things better?


Prof Dr Oswin Maurer, Dean, Faculty of Economics and Management, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy


Dr Ivan Ninov, Executive Dean, Stenden Qatar University of Applied Sciences, Qatar

Ms Nicole Niña Bian, Vice President for Education Development, Joji Ilagan Schools Foundation Inc, Philippines

Research Grant Scheme (RGS) 2019

In 2019, and each year following, THE-ICE will fund up to two (2) research proposals to the value of AUD$2500 each at THE-ICE IPoE Forum. The purpose of THE-ICE RGS is to facilitate and promote research by member institutions, supporting THE-ICE objective to enhance the quality of higher education in tourism, hospitality, events and culinary arts (TH&E). Read more about the RGS here

THE-ICE is delighted to announce and congratulate the inaugural recipients of THE-ICE Research Grant Scheme – Associate Professor Rajka Presbury and Dr Madalyn Scerri from Blue Mountains International Hotel Management School (BMIHMS) at Torrens University Australia, Australia with their proposal titled ‘Communication excellence: developing a teaching tool to enhance hospitality graduates’ service communication soft skills’.


Associate Professor Rajka Presbury, Associate Professor, Blue Mountains International Hotel Management School (BMIHMS) at Torrens University Australia, Australia

Roundtable Workshop Series

(Accredited Members of THE-ICE only)

View the RWS Flyer here

Session One: Global Mind Monitor


Dr Ankie Hoefnagels, Research Director, Hotel Management School Maastricht, The Netherlands

Session Two: Our Shared Future – Realising the Potential of THE-ICE


Dr Craig Thompson, Chief Executive Officer, THE-ICE, Scotland

Ms Jane Gentle, General Manager, THE-ICE, Australia

Programme details

Download 13th THE-ICE IPoE Forum 2019 Programme here

Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsorship opportunities are now available, please email for details.

Proudly hosted by:


Proudly sponsored by: